Apple Event Megathread, September 2014

I’m not sure how many people follow technology news and events here but the big Apple event is tomorrow. It’s looking like iPhone 6 is a definite with a strong indicator for some kind of watch or wearable as well.

I figured I would start up a thread since if it’s relevant to my interests, it might be for others too.

Anyone following it? Feelings on a larger android-sized iPhone? iWatch?

Android for life! Unless they add a projectable keyboard. It must also be water proof, I do expect this though.

I follow Apple closely too. I’m a hobby iOS developer (though my day job is in accounting, go figure) and I have mixed feelings about the large screen.

As a developer, I hate having to think about ANOTHER screen size. As a user, I love the bigger screen, but only if they manage to squeeze a larger battery in there.

The iWatch is a toss-up. I don’t know what they will announce but it definitely will be something wearable as HealthKit and HomeKit (new developer frameworks Apple has provided) hints at. It could strictly be a Nike fuel band type of device.

P.S. If there are any other iOS developers here I’d love to chat.

I’m an Android user myself, I’m curious to see how tomorrows announcements effect Apple stock, especially after the icloud breach. The iWatch could be interesting, I’m wondering what battery life will be compared to the Android counterparts, and the large iPhone I’m sure will be a hit with Apple users.

I’m really curious to see what influence the Beats purchase will have on Apple. A rumor early on, was Apple maybe developing a proprietary headphone connector that will only work with Beats branded headphones.