Building my First Rig

So as liberally discussed over in Discord, I’m looking at potentially building my own box to replace our current PoS Dell Tower and was hoping the fine folks here at Strats might be able to help a poor guy out.

Before I get into what I’m looking for, let me outline a few things are important to know:

• I’ve never built my own rig before. While I’d like to think I have the technical know how to do so, or at least follow instructions/walk-through, my wife does suggest I don’t follow simple instructions very well if at all.
  • I’m Canadian. Don’t judge. But I’ll need to keep the CBSA out of it, so great deals on a US site or provider make my life somewhat difficult.
  • My proposed, non-wife approved budget is $1000 CAD.

Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, what I’m looking for is something that will allow me to actually play Star Citizen (you should hear the fan fire up in the current Dell PoS I have) & yet still accomplish everything the wife needs - like email. Or iTunes. Or FarmVille. Also, I’ll only be running one monitor as we don’t have the space for me to go crazy (or awesome depending on perspective) and have something else.

I’d also be interested in any tips you might have. Walkthroughs you’ve used. Stock tips. You know, the good stuff.

StratsCo, you’re my only hope!

When I built my PC back in 2013 I used the Tom’s Hardware Guide. When I was selecting my parts I used PC Part Picker. Every thing, save building your own water loop, is pretty much plug and play now-a-days. As far as the USD to CAD goes, I can’t really help you there. PC Part Picker has a whole cost thing, but I’m not sure it will be that useful for you. What I love about the site is that it will show you compatibility issues with the parts you choose.

1. do you have space constraints for case size?
  2. require a certain number of hard drive slots?

Edit: so this is what i came up with based on what i could find regarding SC system reqs: