Destiny: Was it Everything it was Destined to Be?

destiny

With the first release of Bungie’s highly anticipated action shooter settled into the gaming community, I can’t help but wonder… did Destiny really live up do all the hype or were we ripped off? I personally was quite a bit disappointed for I had been following the game’s progress all throughout its preparation as a dedicated fan like many others and upon finally being able to play it, I feel as though we didn’t truly get what we had been promised.

First of all, I’m sure others can relate to me when I say that I was under the impression that Destiny was going to be an open world. Now I’m no expert but most of the areas feel a bit more path oriented to me. Another feature I was really looking forward to was the ‘Tower’. The ‘Tower’ was described as a sort of hub where we could trade, shop, customize our ships, and much more. With most of the area still off limits, many of the features that excited me were really lacking their luster or simply unavailable. The campaign- though entertaining, was a little too short. While we did expect for the storyline to be rationed out in many installments, I feel that they could have given us a bit more in this chapter.

Now I will swing in the other direction for a moment and state how I was very much pleased with the Strikes and Raids, though at times the reward system seemed slightly bogus. I believe I had been doing a run through “The Summoning Pits” mission and one fireteam member and I had basically carried our third member the entire way. This game somehow found it appropriate to grant many deaths and few kills with legendary equipment and the opposite with common. Other than that rare occurring incident, the Strikes and Raids are still greatly entertaining and worth the hype.