Dual/multi displays

Currently I am using a 27" monitor for my PC. I think it works well and I’m very happy with the display size.

I have just upgraded to a new desk with much more surface area. I am considering adding a second monitor solely for the purpose of looking up website/forums while gaming, VoIP/chat programs, etc. Essentially to keep me from having to minimize my game while playing.

I have never used a multi-monitor setup before. Could anyone give me some advice for this? I would be considering a much smaller display, probably around a 20" or so just to fit in the corner of the workspace (L-shaped desk). It most likely would not be going beside my current 27" display.

No real advice on it; just make sure your graphics card supports it. The only other thing you’ll want to watch is native resolutions. If the native resolution for the two monitors is different, even if you set them both to 1920 x 1080 you’ll have this weird invisible lip that your mouse will get stuck on constantly.

Outside of that, dual (or more) displays is amazing, and totally worth it. You get used to it though, so be prepared if you work in an environment that only has a single display! :stuck_out_tongue:

I’d say it’s totally worth it man, i’m rocking the dual monitors as well and it makes everything so easy to be able to do stuff while playing games. just remember most of your games will have to be played in windowed, or borderless modes so you can scroll onto your second monitor.

To be honest, if you have the real estate on your desk to support a second 27" monitor, I’d go for that. I know you’re intention is to get a smaller monitor to put to the side, but I suspect that once you get a second monitor, you’ll realize that you’ll use it for a lot more then initially intended and regret buying a small monitor. Beyond that, the resolution / screen sizing may throw you off when going from one monitor to the next.