Game Development

Hey everybody I’m an aspiring indie game developer that has a small group of friends I dev with. Was wondering if there are any other devs on here that would like to discuss their projects and experiences. I’ve used Game Maker Studio Pro in the past but for the last two years have focused on Unity Pro. I’ve started messing with Unreal in the last couple months to see how the other half lives.

Paging @Philspaz :wink:

Unreal is the clear choice with most projects, what types of games are you focusing on? I used UDK for a few years before UE4 came out and have been working in that ever since, I love it! Made a flying game several years ago in Unity because it was incredibly frustrating to get 6DoF in Unrealscript, but that’s been remedied with C++ and Blueprints so I don’t have a real reason for Unity anymore. Working on a Darksouls like game that is purely casting right now, trying to decide between a realistic graphic style and an Overwatch /Firewatch /Witness type. Both require alot of time for different reasons, not looking forward to that phase… still working on mechanics atm.

I’ve been thinking of getting back into development after a long hiatus. My most recent experience has been with scripting environments like Flash AS2, XNA C#, and now Javascript. I’m building a simple browser-based game engine for contract-related work and documenting my progress as I get familiar with it.

I’d like to look into Unity and Unreal just to get a feel for what they do. I also recently got a subscription to HeroCloud so I could study their scripting language (which looks good) and see how they’ve architected MMO-as-a-service.

These days I’m interested in designing social systems and modeling NPC economies as a backdrop for social interaction. Also maybe designing some kind of UI toolkit for expressing this stuff. No real plans to publish anything, but who know!