Happy to find a professional, laid-back gaming community

Hi, I’m Dylan Larkins - better known online as tmad40blue.

I’m pretty much the definition of a “distracted creative”, dabbling in all sorts of creative disciplines but never quite deciding on one. Music and technology might be my biggest interests, though.

I work as a staff member at the local science and technology museum, where I help out with groups/field trips and education programs as well.

When I’m not at my day job, I’m a Linux systems administrator and multiplayer gameserver owner, and have been for many years now. My personal computers run Linux as well.

Some (but certainly not all) multiplayer games that I enjoy are Destiny on PS4, Super Smash Bros 4, Minecraft survival mode, Armello, DnD (using something like RollD20 if I’m playing online), and anything table-top really. I also enjoy a small-cult-following roleplay game called Space Station 13; maybe I can get some of you into it as well.

As far as single-player, the Metroid franchise is one of my all-time favorites. I also enjoy Dwarf Fortress and have played for years.

As an aside, I’m also a pianist and a bit of an audiophile, and have a deep appreciation for quality over quantity in any discipline/field.

Hope to get to know some of you better. Glad to be here at Strats.

Welcome to Strats @tmad40blue, nice introduction by the way. A lot of us hang out on Discord, which you can join HERE

Look forward to talking with ya…

Glad to have you here! So what do you mean multiplayer gameserver owner? Are they for certain games, which ones? I’ve used Linux VERY little, but I’m pretty sure that’s what I’m putting on my pine64’s, guess I better get familiar, any tips?

Thanks for the welcome.