iMac Surgery scheduled

mac
apple

Does anyone have any experience with Apple hardware? I have a 24" iMac from Early 2009 that is apparently too old for Apple to take a look at. They consider it a “legacy” computer and therefore cannot get parts for it to replace my video card. I’ve been experiencing some crazy video card related symptoms since Snow Leopard, and I’ve brought it in for repairs before right when I was at the end of my AppleCare. They replaced the screen and the logic board, but not the video card and the symptoms continued. I’ve been lazy and didn’t do anything about it until recently. I’ve done a ton of research and figured out that it might just be my heat sink, and not the card itself. so i bought a replacement on ebay and i’m gearing up to put it in myself. i found this great guide. But I’m still nervous. I’ve been building PC’s for 20 years, so how hard can it be? If anyone has an experience, just tell me it won’t be so bad so I feel better, thanks.

I’ve never done work on one personally, but several friends over the years have used tutorials to great success with assorted Apple products; I think you’ll be fine as long as you keep your wits about you :wink:

the hardest part for me is trying to block out a big segment of time. i’m anticipating this taking a lot longer than a pc vid card install. between gaming and zoning out my family, it’s hard to find the actual time to sit down and do it.

Treat it like your game time for a night under the pretense that all subsequent game time will be that much more awesome once you’ve completed your task :wink:

Do you have another PC, coz I want you to stream this with an overhead camera or something.

I have a bit of experience, i’ve been dealing with IMacs for about 5 years and i’ve been building for about 3, you just need a bit of practice and patience and its really easy.