Many Combolations, Strats!

Hello everyone. I just joined and wanted to introduce myself. I’m Shane Riley, a web developer and lifetime gamer. I started playing PC games 28 years ago on an IBM PS/2 model 25. All of the games were written in BASIC, and most had syntax errors that I had to learn to fix in order to run them. That got me interested in programming, which eventually led me to my current career.

I mostly play solo games, but talk about games a lot in the community. I’ve got a collection of around 70 systems and close to 1,000 games. I stream games once in a while on Twitch when I have a large enough block of time, but that never seems to fall within a regular schedule.

I’m on Twitter and NintendoAge as shaneriley, and Twitch as shaneplaysgames. I also play Minecraft on occasion as shaneriley. I tend to know more about games for older systems, with my modern gaming knowledge falling into the indie level.

Looking forward to talking with everyone about all things gaming related!

Hi Shane welcome to Strats! That’s an impressive gaming background and collection. What is your most “prized possession” in your many systems and games?

Welcome aboard! And thanks for increasing our pool of old-school gamers. Droul and I aren’t alone lol.

Yoohoo Nubs, when’s my next Evolve fix coming out :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

I’m not normally the type to pick favorites since my mood changes, but i can give you a few interesting items:

• The Singer Izek sewing machine set complete with VHS tape (which I still need to record and upload to YouTube for Frank Cifaldi to archive)
  • Cheetahmen: The Creation (http://www.cheetahmengames.com/Cheetahmen-The-Creation.html)
  • Terranigma repro CIB from Timewalk Games just before they shut down
  • Famicom edition Gameboy Advance SP