Minecraft - What You Need to Know

minecraft
pc

I am going to purchase Minecraft tonight when my kids go to bed and I plan to invest some time into it and really give it a chance.

Being that I’m new to it, what advise can you give me? What did you wish you knew starting out? What resources can I use to get smart on it?

Standing by for flood of useful information…

I’m standing by as well. I just bought and would like to know some good tips.

Straight from the minecraft wiki http://minecraft.gamepedia.com/Tutorials/Beginner's_guide
As Minecraft is a sandbox game, there is no defined or proper way and style to play the game. However, one common theme found throughout gameplay is the need to feed yourself, and to avoid (and later, fight) hostile mobs that spawn either in dark places (e.g. caves) or when night falls.

First day
As your first day begins, you will need to collect wood. Use this to make a crafting table and a wooden pickaxe. Then dig a small stairway into the ground to collect at least 29 cobblestone for a full set of stone tools, and a furnace. You then want to make a shelter (dirt or wooden shack), or if available, stay in a village. After that put down your crafting table and furnace and smelt some wood into charcoal, and make some torches with that.

Nighttime
For nighttime, the primary danger will be monsters. It is a good idea to stay in your lit shelter. If you don’t have armor and a sword, do not try to engage any monsters! The worst way to die early on is to be killed while trying to hunt monsters, so don’t do it!

Death
Normally in survival mode Minecraft, when you die, all items you were carrying or wearing in your inventory are scattered around your point of death while you respawn elsewhere. Until you sleep in a bed, you will spawn somewhere within 10 blocks of the world spawn point. This includes the first time when you started the game, so you can respawn anywhere within 20 blocks of where you first entered the world.