New Game - Albion Online

albiononline

Hello fellow strategists, today I want to talk about an upcoming title called Albion Online. When I first heard about this game I was intrigued because the descriptions I was hearing were quite reminiscent of Ultimate Online. So I started playing the game (There is a Winter Alpha even going on right now) and I will say that it is quite similar to UO but simplified in a few ways.

The game features a top down camera and click to move controls (like Diablo). There are no levels in the game just different tiers of quality on gear and other items. And instead of choosing a class or specializing in certain skill lines, they have a unique and simplified way of deciding what types of abilities your character has available to them.

You Are What You Wear

The games slogan is 'you are what you wear’
This is because the skills and abilities you have are derived from enchantments applied to your armor.

All armor and weapons are crafted by players, so you either have to craft your own, buy it on the auction house, or kill someone and take theirs (yes, you can do that)

So in order to decide which abilities you get from your equipment, you select the ‘spells’ tab when crafting an item

Here you can see that the spell I’ve chosen for this chest armor shows up on the right hand side of my screen, those are your active abilities, the second question mark on the bottom of the armor allows me to choose a passive ability.

Below is a picture of the next tier of the same item (T3 Cloth Chest) you can see that the Tier 3 has more spells to choose from than the Tier 2 item above.

In order to craft and/or equip the higher Tier items you must complete certain challenges such as killing a number of enemies with a certain weapon, or gathering a certain type of materials. These achievements give you progress on the “Destiny Board” giving you access to higher tier items and materials.