New to Water Cooling

Hey guys, I just wanted to let you all know that I’m new to water cooling and wanted to know if the stuff I was planning on buying will cool a GeForce GTX 980ti and an i7 4790k. Im using the following; http://amzn.com/w/U897TF6D4EAY Thanks :slight_smile:

Hey! Welcome to the party.

I just did my first custom loop not too long ago. And I know @RedBeerde and @ducksauce88 recently just did some custom loops as well… So if you have any questions I, and I’m sure the other two as well, would be happy to help out. (RedBeerde’s build log is MUCH better than mine)

Also, have you delided your CPU? While it DOES void your Intel warranty, you probably won’t see the full benefit of a custom water loop if your thermals are being bottlenecked by the crappy Intel TIM (thermal interface material) used on the non-extreme processors. I delided my 4770k and saw temps drop by ~20C under load.

EDIT: Delidding can destroy your CPU if done wrong. Please read lots of guildes/tutorials, and only attempt if you are an advanced computer builder

I just finished up a watercooling project, linked above, with that same CPU and GPU. Just make sure that the gtx980ti you buy (evga, asus, gig, etc) will match the waterblock. I know for my setup, EK’s 980ti waterblock only worked for reference style cards.

Example:

EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW ACX 2.0+ w/BP (Part Number: 06G-P4-4996 -KR) is not a reference style pcb (card), therefore the EK waterblock would not fit on this card

but

EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+ ACX 2.0+ w/BP (Part Number 06G-P4-4995-KR) is a reference style pcb, and EK’s waterblock does fit on this card.

Just be 100% sure that your waterblocks will work for your components before you buy. Nothing worse than tearing everything apart just to find out that something doesn’t quite match up.

If you are buying the CPU and GPU new, make sure to run them, and do your burn in / stability tests before you install your loop, to make sure there are no DOA items.