Player Type Expectations

elderscrollsonline
pc

I would like to get some conversation going on what is expected of a player acting as a Healer, Damage Per Second (DPS), Tank etc. in a group. I think we have all been in a Pick Up Group (PUG) where the healer was doing anything and everything besides healing their teammates.

Great topic. I’m aiming to be a dps SnB (one handed and shield) Templar. Honest to say that I’m a noob at MMORPGs and I would love to read about some combat theories that would apply to this game and most MMORPGs in general.

My primary focus is on tanking. I’ve been a tank in just about every MMORPG I can think of. Some games I liked more than others and some I spent more time on than others, of course.

Tanking in ESO is both different and the same as other games depending on what stage of a dungeon you’re in.

In most MMORPGs, the tank’s role is to hold as close to 100% of the aggro as possible and have everything in the room beating on them at all times. The goal is for the healer to only have to worry about healing the tank’s massive health pool and that’s it.

However, in ESO this isn’t really possible. Healers have more area and healing-over-time heals than they do target spam heals. Add to that, tanking classes in ESO only have 1 or 2 taunts at their disposal.

This means our high level dungeon-goers need to be prepared to handle getting attacked by adds in boss fights. It means our tanks need to be aware that crowd control, buff management, understanding of the room, and knowing who and who not to pull a mob off of is more important than holding aggro on everything.

We have some seriously gifted individuals in this guild faction that I am sure will help shed some light on this for you. BTW for those that do not know… (I had to look it up once) SnB is one handed weapon and shield, otherwise know as sword and board (SnB)