Programmers, Software Engineers, Coders Etc. Sound off

So I have noticed we have a lot of either Computer Science students or software engineers in our ranks. I have dove into the field myself and am in the midst of retooling myself into a software engineer.

I thought it might be a good idea to start a conversation about who is doing what. We might be able to share some ideas and even get some pair programming or something.

I have no real prior programming experience, unless you count when I used to copy BASIC from magazines to play games on my Commodore 64 back in the early 1980’s. I currently have been heads down in Ruby on Rails. I spent the last couple months learning pure Ruby so I had a better foundation coming into Rails.

I had to take a couple Python courses here recently so I know a bit about it as well.

I am also really focused on mastering Vim as my texted editor.

I have zero current programming experience (my programming class in college was FORTRAN) but this brought back memories. I remember my brother and I finding code for a game called Apple Panic in a magazine and typing it on our Atari 400. It was saved on a tape drive.

Working as a programmer in an insurance company. Spent a lot of time digging through terrible code/processes “designed” by the business and “programmed” by contractors.

Quite a lot of garbled junk code that I expected were copy-pasted without full comprehension of what it does and then just wrapped with more code so it sort of does what they wanted.

Recently been looking more into JavaScript and impressed what can be done with it. For example, Atom seems like a really neat editor and is written in “CoffeeScript / JavaScript / Less / HTML”. Been using it instead of Sublime Text.

Trying to write an application to bridge the actuaries who love spreadsheets with a variety of inconsistent structures and programmers who hate having to use the rates from the those spreadsheets.