The Division - DPS isn't everything

thedivision

Ok, so I’m somewhat new to the RPG game type. In fact a game like Destiny had me confused as shit when it first dropped. I remember asking…“why the hell are there so many currency’s? this makes no sense”. Anyway, I found this to be a good read for people who are noobish to these types of games like me.

I pulled this from /r/thedivision so none of this is my own words:

Which gun is better? But my dps is higher with this one. Is my dps high enough for challenging? Bruh
I keep seeing the same questions over and over. Let me clear some things up for those of you who are unfamiliar with mmo mechanics.
This is a game with hundreds of stats, not just three. Everyone seems so focused on dps, health and skill power. Quite honestly, these stats are poorly calculated and should be taken with less than a grain of salt.
Let’s talk about WEAPON dps. I’ll give two examples. An ACR and the infamous Vector. -:smiling_imp:
First up, damage per bullet. The damage you see on the gun itself, not the dps. This number is far more important than the calculated dps. Pay. Attention. To this.
In this case the ACR has 8.9k damage per bullet, and the Vector has 10.6k damage per bullet. Pay attention.
Also keep in mind that as your firearms stat goes up (along with damage% on magazines), the damage per bullet number goes up. This applies to everything, including blueprints.