What Anti-virus do you use?

I’ve been using norton for many years and want to move to something less intense on the resources, any suggestions? I seem to remember someone suggesting avast, is that still good? Also, I keep reading I should use anti-virus AND anti-maleware, I guess I just assumed that was lumped in with norton 360, maybe it is… is there anything else I’m missing?

I still run avast! and have had no complaints.

Windows Defender

What more do you need?

Exactly. Everything else is bloatware. Uninstall it.

do you use the pro or the free?

I use ESET (perk from work). It’s proven good in our client base especially when it comes to ransomware. Very lightweight client that just does its thing.

After a few errant clicks back in my Minecraft modding days (downloading things from the various cancer-ridden sites people would host their mods on so they could make a few cents and guessing wrong on the 12 different download buttons only to spend a full afternoon and evening undoing the damage), I’ve had the paid version.

Do I absolutely need it?
Probably not.

Am I okay with giving up minimal resources on a strong gaming rig and a few bones every year for some bonus peace of mind?

MalwareBytes Premium (lifetime license), and Windows Defender.

Serious question. Why do so many of you use something other than Windows Defender? There’s no reason to run your files through the same database twice. Why put up with having more stuff running on your machine?